Posted in Books

The Silmarillion

Gosh… any Tolkien fans out there?

I consider myself a fan of Tolkien/LOTR/Middle-earth (I even use the phrase “What (where) in (on) Middle-earth?!”), but after reading The Silmarillion… wow. I love talking books and such with people, and I will rave on Tolkien’s books, but I’d hate and love to talk to someone who studies Tolkien as a profession.

This book can be considered boring (as I first thought), but once you get past the beginning and get further into the battles and such, oh my gosh! It gets so good!

My favorite chapter in The Silmarillion is Of Beren and Luthien. They are the cutest couple in the history of Middle-earth (save for Aragorn and Arwen, but they are like clones of Beren and Luthien)!

Fun Fact! Did you know that J. R. R. Tolkien wrote on his wife’s gravestone “Luthien” and on his “Beren.” Isn’t that super sweet?!

If you don’t know anything of Beren and Luthien, here’s the short version (and don’t get mad at me if you’re a fan, I am shortening this):

  • Beren was a mortal man.
  • Luthien was an elf—immortal
  • Beren found Luthien in a forest and was enchanted by her, falling in love
  • Luthien’s father found out about Beren and sent him away to his death
  • Beren almost died
  • Luthien escaped from her father to save Beren
  • They both died, but Luthien chose to bring them back to the world of the living by giving up her immortality
  • They lived happily ever after by themselves

My question for You: If you have read The Silmarillion, which is your favorite story?

Me

Author:

I am a young girl in my teen years, pushing through life with the help and encouragement of my family and friends. But more than that, the Lord God is before me creating a path for me to follow. This blog shows my struggles and victories in life, the things I love or dislike. I hope you enjoy browsing through my blog. Before you leave, I hope you understand more fully how much the Lord Almighty means to me.

7 thoughts on “The Silmarillion

  1. When I first read it I found it to be like Genesis in the Bible, well, containing parallels and sort of many hints here and there that show Tolkien’s Christianity influenced his Mythopoeia/myth-making; that’s not to say it makes it less original or that he couldn’t keep any Christian influences out of his works even if he tried.
    The fact that should be plain to all who consider the matter of religion/faith/morals and those things’ influence upon a person’s work/book/myth-making honestly is this: no one writes a book or myth without their faith or morals or religion being put in there some way or another; this is because no one believes in nothing, everyone believes something about life/existence, about God/power higher than self, about rules for behavior/morals/ethics, and these things are a greater part of the person than they may realize or admit, but their beliefs will seep into their work, into their creation which began in imagination and then they put into some visible medium or form, like on paper or computer, it came to life, so to speak, once they decided to get it from their imagination and put it into a form that they can work with, edit, change around, while still using their imagination to do the majority of the sort of behind-the-scenes work, like a thing first in a built shop before it’s put on display to be seen by others.
    This whole thing about an author’s influences being seen in their works applies to every author everywhere; they may deny it all they want but they’re just denying the truth, denying what happens to every author no matter how hard they may try to not include consciously their own beliefs about things in the works they write.
    Ahem, back to The Silmarillion. I found the whole book to be interesting, actually, it contains that one can use as something they can look through to find many references made in LOTR and the Hobbit which may leave first-time reader of those books scratching their head’s going ‘Who’s this?’, ‘Who’s that?’, ‘Why’s this happening in the story?’, ‘What’s up with this the One Ring business?’, ‘Why don’t they do this?’, ‘Why can’t they do that?’ and other questions.
    It’s a great book of history of Arda and Middle-earth and a book of stories which have to do with characters you’ll find in the Hobbit and LOTR or their ancestors, and the higher powers at work behind the scenes which also play a role in the history of Middle-earth and Arda.
    Now, I diidn’t say which story in the book is my favorite because I guess I haven’t made up my mind yet. Beren and Luthien is probably the most well-known one by The Silmarillion’s readers and it is a great story but I’ll have to think about a favorite and maybe I’ll have one someday.
    I know, it’s quite a long comment, with a part of it not having to do directly with your question but perhaps my shared opinions may serve some purpose for you or someone else who reads it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow… that was a very deep comment! I like it!
      I agree with what you said in the beginning… it is similar to Genesis, and I found myself thinking that throughout the time I was reading The Silmarillion.
      I like what you said about authors, too… what they believe influences greatly on their writing, whether they want to believe that or not. An example that comes to mind is J. K. Rowling’s (is that her name?) series Harry Potter. I had a conversation once with my parents about why I was not allowed to read the books when I was younger… the main reason was the author’s world-view. It didn’t have to do with just the books, but the author herself. Then I asked, “If J. R. R. Tolkien had not been a Christian, and if his beliefs were not the same as ours, would I not be allowed to read his books” The answer I got was “Probably.”

      Thank you for our comment… I enjoyed it greatly! It gave me something to think about. 🙂

      Like

      1. In regard to Rowling and her world-view and how her books compare and more importantly contrast with Tolkien’s and Lewis’s books, I highly recommend that you find, buy, obtain, wish-list, or whatever else to get the book “Harry Potter, Narnia, and The Lord of the Rings” by Richard Abanes.
        I recently finished reading it and it was very informative, enlightening; I learned much I didn’t know before. The author talks not just about those 3 authors and their works but also about fantasy/fiction genre of literature, the influence books have on children/teens who read them, and mentions other authors also.
        The comment I made about author’s world-view, morals, and condoned religious views fill their works, I didn’t just conjure an opinion out of thin air about the matter, it’s what I learned from the book I just recommended, but the author explains it better and elaborates on it more than what I wrote in my comment, so my comment was more like a short paraphrase of what’s written in the book about the matter.
        –I was going to add another part to this but decided to just make it a separate post that can be read by any since it’d take up a lot of room here and it’s already a long comment, so if you’re interested in reading my “” that I’ve posted, go ahead, and maybe share your opinion on that too, agreeing or disagreeing with this or that there. Feedback/comments here and there are welcome by all.–

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, and I will look forward to that post!

        I actually saw that book on your Great List of Books Page, and I have added it to my wishlist. Thanks!

        Like

  2. Yeah, I added it right after Tolkien and Lewis books because it’s related to those books and I’ve recently finished reading it. I recommend you suggest it to your parents, it’s give insights which y’all may not have yet about the topic of fantasy literature, more specifically what children were/are reading and how it influences their views. It’s great that your parents aren’t careless about theirs and your reading choices; being prudent about what children read is a must, especially in this generation where pretty much any fool can write whatever nonsense pops into their heads and they publish it and that trash is out there and it might be advertised to teen/skids and fills their heads with the author’s nonsense; this shouldn’t be but this is sort of the price to pay for basically allowing anyone who feels like writing stuff and publishing it do so. If your parents read the book, maybe they can recommend it to parents they know who have children who read fantasy/fiction/etc. books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

