Posted in Books

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

This is probably one of those series of books that everyone knows about… but I don’t care.

The first time I read LOTR was when I was 13. I actually saw the movies when I was 5, so I was a little disappointed later on that I hadn’t read the books first.

LOTR is such an amazing set of books, because first, they are written amazingly well, and second, they hold so much truth. Now, Tolkien did not like allegories, unlike C. S. Lewis. Even so, there is such a clear message in The Lord of the Rings, and that is one reason I love the books.

It has much to do with the World War I, as J. R. R. Tolkien was in it, and so the LOTR is like a history of what happened, in a fantastical way. Tolkien also did not like all of the new machines, and so in the LOTR he makes that clear, as the “bad guys” are cutting down all the trees and creating hideous machines that bellow smoke and ruin the lands.

There is much, much more I could say about this, but if you are ever to read the books, I don’t want to ruin them for you, so I bid thee adieu.

Fun Fact: In a movie called War Horse, there is a scene where the men are crawling through the trenches while bombs are exploding all about them, and it is very much like what Tolkien experienced. In The Lord of the Rings, there is a place that he actually wrote based off of those trenches called the Dead Marshes,  where there was once a great battle, but the land turned to swamps filled with torches that would misguide you.

My question for You: What author do you know that has written something fictional based on real life, as Tolkien did?

Me

Author:

I am a young girl in my teen years, pushing through life with the help and encouragement of my family and friends. But more than that, the Lord God is before me creating a path for me to follow. This blog shows my struggles and victories in life, the things I love or dislike. I hope you enjoy browsing through my blog. Before you leave, I hope you understand more fully how much the Lord Almighty means to me.

Leave a Reply

