Posted in Author Talk

Louisa May Alcott—Recap

I know I have already done a review on Louisa May Alcott, but I am going to give some more information!

Above is the signature of Louisa, and I thought it would be fun to start off with that.

I had to write a speech on my hero for a class at my homeschool co-op, and the first name that came to mind was “Louisa May Alcott”. We had a week to think about it and contact our teacher with who we were going to write about, but I knew right then, that she was who I wanted to write about.

For the speech, I was supposed to find quotes, fun facts, and give a story on how they are my hero. While searching the internet, I cam upon a lot of things that I never actually knew about this woman.

I was thinking I would just list off those facts, but I think I will actually post my speech on here for you guys.

As this site is called “A Homeschooler’s Life”, I guess I should put some school up for you all.

LOUISA MAY ALCOTT

by Me

Have you ever wanted to drop everything and give up? I know that I sometimes feel that way, but that’s not the path that Louisa May Alcott chose. As a female in the 1800’s, Louisa was denied simple rights that we now take for granted. Women weren’t given the right to vote, and if we didn’t have people like Louisa, we wouldn’t be where we are now. As she puts it,“Whatever we can do and do well, we have a right to do, and I don’t think anyone will deny us.” Another difficulty posed in the Alcott family—they knew poverty well. At times during Louisa’s childhood, there was nothing to eat but bread, water, and the occasional apple.

Striving for something greater, Louisa determined from an early age to help her family. Most women weren’t given a proper education, as they were considered lower class in that time period, but Louisa and her mother, Abigail May, pushed for better learning. As a child, Louisa’s mother was taught by her older brother, Samuel Joseph, who spoke all around the country to abolish slavery. He often sent new books, and recalled what he had learned to Abigail May. Most people believe that Louisa’s father, Bronson Alcott, was responsible for much of Louisa’s learning, but in truth, Louisa’s mother made a large impact in her daughter’s schooling. Later in life, Louisa was asked to write a story for girls, and thus began her work of Little Women. Even though the book was a best-seller, at the time, she felt pressured to finish it. The reason for this was that she didn’t want to write Little Women, as she thought the type of book was “moral pap for the young,” meaning that she thought the type of writing was worthless and tasteless junk. When Louisa’s editor noticed her neglecting to write the book, he made a deal with Bronson Alcott. If Louisa wrote the girl’s book, the man would publish one of Bronson’s books. Thus, Louisa felt pressured into finish the book. Even so, she finished the book in a mere ten weeks, having begun in May of 1868, and turning in the 402 pages of the book to the publishers on July 15 of the same year.

I chose Louisa May Alcott as my hero because she inspired me to write. But as I studied her life, I realized that there is much more to her that makes her my hero. She inspires me to push on, even when life gets tough, and we are down in spirits. There is no reason to give up. She is the one who planted that tiny little seed in my heart to write, and as time has gone on, that seed has turned into a fully blooming flower. For Louisa’s persevering, I have been encouraged to push through, even when I have hit a brick wall. Louisa had high hopes of the future, as she said, “I want to do something splendid… something heroic or wonderful that won’t be forgotten after I’m dead… I think I shall write books.” All we need to do to accomplish our goals and dreams in life is to never give up. Louisa wrote, “We all have our own life to pursue, our own kind of dream to be weaving, and we all have the power to make wishes come true, as long as we keep believing.”

If you are interested in learning more about this great woman, please comment below, and I will see what I can do!

Also, there is an amazing biography on Louisa called Marmee and Me. It is a great read, so check it out!

My question for You: Who is your hero?

Me

Author:

I am a young girl in my teen years, pushing through life with the help and encouragement of my family and friends. But more than that, the Lord God is before me creating a path for me to follow. This blog shows my struggles and victories in life, the things I love or dislike. I hope you enjoy browsing through my blog. Before you leave, I hope you understand more fully how much the Lord Almighty means to me.

9 thoughts on “Louisa May Alcott—Recap

  1. My hero is, without a doubt, my grandpa. He has helped me so much. He was responsible for me becoming a Christian and has helped me grow stronger in my faith. I actually just finished writing a poem about “My Hero” for an essay in school. ~Anne

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a fascinating blog post! I loved Little Women when I was younger, and its interesting to see the parallels between her life and the life of her character Jo. Her strength and determination is definitely inspirational- I’ll have to check out her biography. Alcott’s story also bears a striking resemblance to the life of L.M. Montgomery; she basically wrote Anne of Green Gables to help support her elderly aunts.

    I’ll stop rambling here and tell you how much I like your blog. I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts. Good luck in all of your learning!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

