Posted in Me

The Loyal Friend

You know you have read a really good book when, at the end—the most emotional scenes—you are wracked with sobs.

I know this from experience! (And it doesn’t help much that I am listening to “Fix You” by Coldplay)

A young girl, in her teen years, sat on her bed silently, completely engrossed in her book, two pillows propped up against the wall behind her, and a fluffy white cat purring at her side.

She had been at it for several hours now, and she knew it was past her bedtime, but she could not, would not, tear herself away from this book.

Suddenly, she stared in shock at the pages, the words swirling together as one as tears pooled beneath her eyes.

For a moment, she could not believe she had read correctly, so she read it again, and again, and again…

That was when the sobs came. Her body hunched over, and she couldn’t control the endless streams of tears flowing down her face, dropping on her shirt.

She had to set the book aside and cry until she was all cried out. But she couldn’t come to that point. The more she read, the more she cried, on and on and on…

The loyal cat who was once at her side, climbed into her lap and looked into the girl’s face with a look that said, “What’s wrong?” She plopped down on the girl’s lap then, a rumbly mass of fur, and the girl smiled through her tears.

My question for You: Have you ever had a similar experience?

Me

Author:

I am 16. I blog for God. I love crafts. I adore music. I am homeschooled. I like lots of other things. I hope you enjoy my blog!

4 thoughts on “The Loyal Friend

  1. Only once. I was watching a Lassie movie in my room and when it appeared that Lassie died trying to save her boy’s life, I turned the movie off there and laid on the floor softly crying. But I finally got a grip on myself and turned it back on to find that Lassie had survived the once devastating situation. It’s very funny how a book or movie can have such an effect on you, isn’t it? ~Anne

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

