Posted in Author Talk

Melanie Dickerson

Melanie Dickerson has written a series of fairytale retlellings in her Medieval Fairytale Romance Series. I have read a few of the books, and I am going to share my thoughts on her writing, and these stories.

WARNING: THERE ARE SPOILERS. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

The books that I have read are: The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest (my favorite by far), The Healer’s Apprentice, The Fairest Beauty, & The Beautiful Pretender.


Each book is based on a (or a few) fairytales. The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest is like Robin Hood; The Healer’s Apprentice, Sleeping Beauty, and so on and so forth.

I got the first one from the library and loved it so much that I bought the next two used from a local book store. I was a bit disappointed after reading them.

The Healer’s Apprentice is about a young girl who is living under the guise of a peasant named Rose, but she is really the betrothed of Lord Hamlin. But, she does not know this, and falls in love with Lord Hamlin, thinking that she will never actually be able to have him. Soon, she finds out that a man is trying to kill her, and is poisoned by him. At this point, the book dabbles a bit in sorcery/witchcraft, as the man who poisoned her was pure evil, and dabbled in magic.

I felt a little inomfortable at those points, but all together, it was a good book, but still not my favorite. One aspect that I really like about this series by Melanie Dickerson, is that she makes the stories much more realistic than they are supposed.

Note: This series is called the Medieval Fairytale Romance Series, so it does have a good amount of romance, but it is still clean. I would not suggest these books for anyone under the age of… maybe 12-13.

All together, I have enjoyed the books that I have read by Melanie Dickerson, but just because I know I can be suceptable to certain types of books—romance—I have decided not to read any more until I am older and more mature. But then again, I may not be interested in these books at that point. Who knows!

Happy Friday, all!

My question for You: What is your favorite Fairytale?

Me

Author:

I am 16. I blog for God. I love crafts. I adore music. I am homeschooled. I like lots of other things. I hope you enjoy my blog!

Leave a Reply

