Posted in Books

Janette Oke: Too Long A Stranger

The frontier life had required their parting. What could bridge the chasm between their two different worlds?

As you may or may not know, Janette Oke is one of my favorite authors. She writes in a “Prairie Love Story” style, and I can guarantee that her books are great for a girl of any age.

It has been a while since I have read this book specifically, but I remember loving it.

The sudden death of her husband had left Sarah Perry and her baby Rebecca alone in their small frontier town. The question from a kind neighbor woman, “What do you plan to do?,” seemed impossible to answer. All that remained was their home and the freight-hauling business—if sold, it would be at a loss. Sarah was not trained for any job, and she had nowhere to turn.

But Sarah resolved for Rebecca’s sake to put her life back together and go on. And to everyone’s surprise, Sarah finds a way. But the choices forced upon her by life on the frontier are very hard, especially the question of how to care for Rebecca. The most difficult decision comes when Sarah determines that the best thing for her little daughter’s future is to send her away to boarding school.

But the distance that separates them over the years cannot be measured in miles. When the day finally arrives that Rebecca comes home, both mother and daughter find themselves viewing each other from two different worlds. What hope is there of restoring the bond that once was between them?

I remember feeling a lot of heartache while reading this book… it gives a view on the hardship of frontier life, but the love and care that everyone had for each other. It is a very heartwarming book, despite the heartache.

Only the thinnest strand of the past holds the mother and daughter together…

I highly reccomend any of Janette Oke books to any girl longing for a life different from hers… that is when I found myself reading these books, and it helped set my mind back in place and thanking God for what I have.

My question for You: If you could live in any time period, which would it be, and why?

Me

Author:

I am a young girl in my teen years, pushing through life with the help and encouragement of my family and friends. But more than that, the Lord God is before me creating a path for me to follow. This blog shows my struggles and victories in life, the things I love or dislike. I hope you enjoy browsing through my blog. Before you leave, I hope you understand more fully how much the Lord Almighty means to me.

4 thoughts on “Janette Oke: Too Long A Stranger

  1. Oh, and if I could live in any time period it would probably be the 1950s. It just seemed so much nicer then. A girl could go places by herself or with friends and the percent of danger was very low. There were school dances and you got to drive classic cars and wear dresses every day without someone asking you why you were wearing it. ~Anne

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

