Posted in Me

Illustrations

You may remember not too long ago when I made a post about my friends editing the first chapter in my book. One of those friends just illustrated the main character for me—Lewellyn.


IT IS SO AMAZING I CAN’T EVEN EXPLAIN HOW HAPPY I AM!

I am not very good at drawing, so I was having a hard time imagining her.

NOT ANY MORE, PEOPLE!

My friend is amazing at drawing. Just look at this. And stare. It. Is. AMAZING!

My question for You: Do you have a hard time picturing characters in your mind?

Me

Author:

I am a young girl in my teen years, pushing through life with the help and encouragement of my family and friends. But more than that, the Lord God is before me creating a path for me to follow. This blog shows my struggles and victories in life, the things I love or dislike. I hope you enjoy browsing through my blog. Before you leave, I hope you understand more fully how much the Lord Almighty means to me.

4 thoughts on “Illustrations

  1. Hello and happy Thursday! Those drawings are amazing! How wonderful of your friend 🙂
    I do not have trouble imagining my characters. Some have been in my dreams. Some I see clearly in my mind. Now, if I could draw, that would certainly help 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Talking about reading books with characters: If it’s a book that includes descriptions of character’s appearance, I can form in my mind a sort of face, the better the description of appearance the more full the character I can picture in my mind/imagination. Few mentions of or very scanty and vague character appearance descriptions (face, body, clothes, armor,etc.) leave in my mind a blurrier picture of what a character might look like; more details means more for imagination to work with, less difficulties imagining a character in the mind.

    If an author who created the character(s) really wants the reader to picture a character as close as they themselves have in their own mind, they must include enough for the reader to work with, feed the reader’s imagination, give the mind enough to form a character in the mind which bears as close a resemblance to what the author created as the author is able to produce.
    This is no easy feat for any author, especially for beginning authors and those who have trouble putting into words descriptions of their created characters.
    There are also those authors who don’t particularly care about how any character appears or how the reader may imagine them to look, they’re more concerned with the story, the plot, the events, and maybe even character development but not how any of their characters look.
    That’s not to say the author’s a bad one, it just shows their primary or secondary concern isn’t character appearance but the story itself; this leaves readers to sort of have to do all the work themselves in imagining how the character(s) may appear based on whatever little mentions of appearance may be scattered throughout the story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

