Posted in Me

LOTR Characters – The Books vs. The Movies – Samwise Gamgee

Click here to see LOTR Characters – The Books vs. The Movies – Frodo Baggins.

Alright, here we go for Samwise Gamgee!!!

Samewise Gamgee


I actually believe that Sam in the book and Sam in the movie are pretty similar character wise (no pun intended). Tell me if you have a different opinion!

One of the main differences to me in the book compared to the movie is that Sam was actually spying on Frodo and telling the rest of his gang what was going on, and he seemed a lot… I don’t want to say smarter, but that is the only word I can come up with, in the book when it came down to Frodo’s “secret” business.

In the movie, he was completely oblivious to what was going on with Frodo and Gandalf. It isn’t a huge difference, and in the movie, they had to cut the time shorter, so it does make more sense… but still, is there anyone out there who is like me and would have preferred a completely true to the book movie, even if it was 20+ hours?!

Other than that, there isn’t a whole lot of differences in Sam, because he is the usual loving companion of Frodo.

Sam is my favorite Hobbit in The Lord of the Rings. He is such a lovable character in my mind, always sticking with Frodo and caring for him—all the way to Mount Doom!

“I can’t carry it for you, but I can carry you!”


If there are any other differences you can think of, please share!

And let me just say…


My question for You: Which do you prefer—LOTR the books, or movies?

Me

Author:

I am 16. I blog for God. I love crafts. I adore music. I am homeschooled. I like lots of other things. I hope you enjoy my blog!

6 thoughts on “LOTR Characters – The Books vs. The Movies – Samwise Gamgee

    1. Um… I am pretty sure it was really similar. In the movies he had shaggy red-ish hair and was chubby, in the books he was chubby, but I am thinking his hair may have been brown… not quite sure. I like the red-ish hair, though.
      And let’s just be honest… Sean Astin was great as Sam no matter the differences. 😆

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

