Posted in Me, Sunday Thoughts

Sunday Thoughts

Hello, all! I am starting a new series on my blog called Sunday Thoughts. The idea is that I will be discussing something that has been on my mind over the last week, and giving it a spiritual twist. I hope that through this series you are inspired, or given something to think about.

Let us begin!

At my job, I typically work in a kitchen. In that kitchen, we have a radio that plays music from some station that doesn’t always play wholesome music. I can hardly hear the words in the songs, unless I try really hard, because as you may be able to guess, a kitchen in the food industry can be loud.

Sometimes I will hear a tune or melody that is similar to a song I know, and often times a Christian song I have sung in church or at my homeschool co-op will pop into my head.

The other day, the lyrics that came into my head were:

Be excellent in what is good.

Be innocent of evil.

These lyrics are from a song that I used to sing at my homeschool co-op. It has a fun tune, and was mostly meant for the younger kids. But when you have the same lyrics running over and over in your mind, you kinda stop and think about it more than when you probably did when you sang the song.

There are windows above the sink in the kitchen, and I love to stare out at the neighboring rooftops (the tea-house I work at is settles in a neighborhood) and daydream. I have to make sure I don’t fall too deep into my day dream, or I miss things my co-worker’s say to me. 😄

I was thinking about those simple lyrics, and it really made me pause. How often do we find pleasure in things that God may not approve of? Do we seek out activities that would please God daily, or just every so often, opting for things that we want to do instead?

We need to be the best we can in the things that are good, wholesome, and that we know the Lord would approve of. Not things that we know we approve of, and God may be fine with it.

We need to have a child-like innocence in all things that are evil and wicked.

The song continues with—

The God of peace will soon crush Satan.

God will crush him underneath of His feet.

Doesn’t it give you comfort to know that God will crush Satan, burying him beneath His feet? That will be a day of rejoicing!

Thank you all for taking time out of your Sunday to read my thoughts. I pray you are all well, and if you have any thoughts, please leave a comment!

Photo credit: Christopher Tkaczyk at Travel + Liesure

My question for You: Are there any songs you sang in your childhood at church or any other place that were a little silly, but had a deep meaning behind them?

Me

Author:

I am 16. I blog for God. I love crafts. I adore music. I am homeschooled. I like lots of other things. I hope you enjoy my blog!

Leave a Reply

