Posted in Sunday Thoughts

Sunday Thoughts: Endurance

So… hi.

I am currently bruised and sore.

I had a big Martial Arts test yesterday… I tested for my Brown Belt in Kajukenbo Tum Pai, two steps away from a Student Black.

Me – before the test.

In my school, Black Belts aren’t handed out lightly, or to just anybody. You have to be a certain age (16 if you went through the kids program), and have certain skills.

I’ve been taking Martial Arts since I was 7, so I have been doing it for 9 years now, and it is a huge part of my life.

This test was a big one for me… I was the second highest rank, the highest being a guy going for his Student Black (a step below First Degree Black Belt).

A lot of pressure was put on me to be a leader for the other testers, since the guy testing for Student Black would be busy doing his own thing. I have a few pep talks, encouraged them, and overall, we had a great time.

The one big thing I learned from yesterday was that with God, you can accomplish anything.

I had this verse repeating in my head throughout the day:

May he give you the power to accomplish all the good things your faith prompts you to do.

  • 2 Thessalonians 1:11 NLT

It really helped me push through, knowing that I wasn’t doing this for my own selfish reasons, but I was doing this for the Lord, and He would help me through it.

I got to the point where I could hardly stand… I was shaking, I was tired, and I could hardly breathe. But God gave me bursts of strength that helped me push through one last time… I never could have done it without him.

Photo credit: p1.kciuk.pl

My question for You: Have you ever gotten to the point where you thought you couldn’t go any further?

Me

Author:

I am a young girl in my teen years, pushing through life with the help and encouragement of my family and friends. But more than that, the Lord God is before me creating a path for me to follow. This blog shows my struggles and victories in life, the things I love or dislike. I hope you enjoy browsing through my blog. Before you leave, I hope you understand more fully how much the Lord Almighty means to me.

One thought on “Sunday Thoughts: Endurance

  1. In answer to your question: Of course, and it’s happened plenty of times and I can say without doubt that only God is the best recourse in those times. I think ‘recourse’ is a fitting word but I don’t mean that God is just an option to sometimes resort to when you run out of all your ideas and others’ ideas for hanging in there and try to go further in times of trouble or challenges. I mean God is the tried and true solution for us finite, imperfect not-almighty people.
    It is wisdom to turn to Him at all times, not just when we’re feeling weak or need some help for this or that. God’s calls us all to trust in Him with all our heart, to consciously place our lives in His hands and surrender to His rule as our God and Creator.
    We can all quickly reach the end of our rope, the end of our strength, the end of our patience, but then it won’t do any good to just believe in ourselves, to lean on our own understanding, no, no, then it’ll be the time for trusting God and praying for Him to help us because, well, we obviously need help. But God wants us to pray and turn to Him at all times, in good and bad, in easy and trouble, in dark and light days. He calls us to trust in Him because He’s the most worthy to be trusted, relied upon, hoped in, most dependable, most loving, strongest, the greatest in existence. It’s foolish to reject His help and love because of pride or whatever other reason. There’s no better source of life and strength and joy than God.
    If we learn a little each day about how awesome God is and read more about Him as He revealed to us in His Word, our lives will not remain the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

