Posted in Sunday Thoughts

Sunday Thoughts: Classics

Have you ever tired of today’s modern novels? I definitely have.

I find it very difficult to find books that I truly enjoy, and take something from them.

Looking back on the books I’ve read over the last few years, I don’t think they were necessarily the best options for me at the time.

Were they bad? Not really.

Did I learn any lessons from them? Yes.

Did I learn important lessons from them? Not necessarily.

So… where do I find books that will actually help me through life? Well, I’ve fallen on the classics.

For me, there is just a feel with classics. They’re not always better than modern books; in fact, there are definitely some amazing modern books out there. But classics… it’s hard to explain, but it just makes me a feel a bit at peace.

I am currently re-reading Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë. I read it when I was younger for a class, and fell head over heels in love with it. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to read it again.

One excuse for me to lay aside other books and pick this up is because I am co-teaching a class for the book, which will be a whole new experience for me!

I read a quote once by C. S. Lewis that said something along the lines of: “For every new book you read, read two old books.

Have a wonderful day, everyone, and God bless.

Photo credit: Personal Growth Map

My question for You: What is your favorite classic?

Me

Author:

I am a young girl in my teen years, pushing through life with the help and encouragement of my family and friends. But more than that, the Lord God is before me creating a path for me to follow. This blog shows my struggles and victories in life, the things I love or dislike. I hope you enjoy browsing through my blog. Before you leave, I hope you understand more fully how much the Lord Almighty means to me.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Thoughts: Classics

  1. I agree with you! I’ve read a lot of classics for school and I think it’s kinda trained me to like them. I think if you read classics you can get through harder books easier than people who read mostly modern YA or those type of books.
    I really like Anne of Green Gables! The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart isn’t a classic, but it has some of the qualities of classics and the writing style has a timeless feel to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I adore classics… I especially love Anne of Green Gables!!! One of my favorites. 🙂 I have heard of The Mysterious Benedict Society, but I have yet to read it. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

