Posted in Sunday Thoughts

Sunday Thoughts – Fighting Stress

I feel like I can’t really pin-point my discussion on this post, but I will try.

I am going to begin by talking about my personality type. I am an INFJ-T, according to the 16 Personality Types website. I am an Advocate in their grouping. I am a dreamer, and am very organized. I am also very introverted, but I can be social when I want to. I am a leader, and sometimes I literally feel pain when I am not leading a group, and acting as the follower, but that’s good for us leaders!

This past week I learned a lot about people and myself. I went to a theater day camp. It was 7 hours a day for 5 days in a row.we auditioned the first day to be cast in one of two Shakespeare shows: Macbeth and Much Ado About Nothing.

My brother and I were cast in Much Ado, and I received the role of Beatrice, my brother as Claudio. We would be performing a 30 minute version of the show on Friday, and I had roughly 2 days to memorize 42 lines.


I got to know a lot of people, and had a lot of fun! Overall, I tried to be a bit laid back when it came to taking charge over things. I let other kids do what they wanted, but then Thursday came. Part of the camp was to create a team cheer. The whole camp was split into two groups: purple team, and black team. My brother and I were in purple. The teams were supposed to create a cheer that they would perform after the shows on Friday in front of our parents. My team consisted of a lot of younger kids, and none of them would agree on an idea, so I took charge. I organized everyone’s thoughts and helped us come to a conclusion in our 15 minutes. We then had 30 minutes on Friday to finish our cheer, and no one was cooperating. We were halfway through finishing our cheer when half of the group decided it was, “Dumb, and too complicated.” I asked them if they had another idea, and they said no. Anywho, we ended up having nothing after the 30 minutes, and a lot of the team were upset and embarrassed and didn’t want to go up in stage and perform the few lines someone finally came up with.

One of the leaders of the camp pulled me aside and had a talk with me about how they were upset and if I could help encourage them.

It ended up not being too bad, but compared to the other team’s cheer,it kinda stunk, but oh well. It was a learning experience. I learned a lot about people who never want to use someone else’s idea, but never have one of their own.

The shows went well, I had my lines well memorized, and it was a blast. But very stressful at times.

My question for You: Are you a leader or a follower?

Me

Author:

I am a young girl in my teen years, pushing through life with the help and encouragement of my family and friends. But more than that, the Lord God is before me creating a path for me to follow. This blog shows my struggles and victories in life, the things I love or dislike. I hope you enjoy browsing through my blog. Before you leave, I hope you understand more fully how much the Lord Almighty means to me.

Leave a Reply

