Posted in Me

Clocks

I’m not sure why, but I feel like discussing clocks today. 🙂 🙂 🙂

In fact… I just thought of an essay I once wrote for school that had to do with clocks, I believe… let me see if I can find it…

A light flickered in the monastery and shadows danced across the walls as the monks of the Middle Ages awakened for their monastic prayers, fulfilling the obligation of Psalm 63:6, “When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches.” But they needed a reliable way to get up each night. This led to one of the greatest inventions of all time: the medieval mechanical clock. Now clocks are everywhere, impacting society and all of life.

Have you ever wondered why inventions litter history? Or why they were invented? Maybe for who they were invented? Inventors would see a problem, and devise a solution. The monks of the Middle Ages had a problem, and needed a solution. Inventions would arise from necessity. In order to fulfill the obligation of Psalm 63:6, the monks needed a reliable way to awaken each night, but they didn’t have the solution. This necessity led to one of the greatest inventions of all time: the medieval mechanical clock. Now the monks can rely on the clock to get up each night for their prayers. Clocks drastically impacted society and all of life, and still do so.

Well… I wrote that quite a while ago. 😂

I love antique clocks. This is my own clock, which I received for my 16th birthday…

My question for You: What is your favorite type of clock?

Me

